100 Days of Fur: Day 97

To read the full story on the 100 Days of Fur experiment, click here.

The experiment is coming to an end soon, and so far, I have nothing to report. Well, there is of course a lot to report, but nothing negative. In the past 97 days, I have not had one single negative reaction to my wearing fur everyday on the street. This, and the fact that fur definitely seems to be making a comeback on the catwalks, leads me to believe that it is becoming more acceptable and less shocking to wear fur. Yay! I will do a full reflection on this at the end of the experiment.

London fashion week, as I mentioned a few days ago, had an abundance of fur, not only on the catwalks, but also on the streets. In fact, I was in East London’s Spitalfield’s market yesterday, and there seemed to be much more vintage fur on sale than usual. I’ve been wearing my red fox stole or muskrat jacket everyday, and have had nothing but positive reactions. (In fact, I think my muskrat coat may be a bit of man-magnet. I have had several men, in Vancouver and London, stop me in my tracks and compliment me on the muskrat coat. It is strange, as this is the only one that seems to get this reaction. And most of them were nice looking guys too… This experiment is more fun than I thought!)

I visited the London fashion week exhibition on Tuesday, to see some of the designer’s collections up close, and I was surprised that even the very small, new brands seem to be adding fur to their collections.

Here is are some photos of David Koma‘s autumn winter 2011 collection. The sales guy told me it was wolf, which I found surprising as it looks like fox. He was quickly corrected by the other rep, who confirmed it was indeed fox! The bright coloured pompoms are very cute.
David Koma, fox fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur pom pomDavid Koma, fox fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur pom pomDavid Koma, fox fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur pom pomDavid Koma, fox fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur pom pom

Holly Fulton‘s autumn winter collection featured some very beautiful fur appliques, I love how this dress featured petals of ponyskin and tufts of fur.
Holly Fulton, fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur appliqueHolly Fulton, fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur applique

And the fur trims on these dresses add great volume. I love the pearl details too!
Holly Fulton, fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur appliqueHolly Fulton, fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur appliqueHolly Fulton, fur, London fashion week, young designers, fur applique

One thought on “100 Days of Fur: Day 97

  1. Oh that is kind of sad that men don’t talk to you unless you are wearing fur. Is that why you do it? For the attention?

Leave a Reply

