100 Days of Fur: Day 82

To read the full story on the 100 Days of Fur experiment, click here.

First of all, thanks to Rebecca Tay to filling in for me while I was fur-less in Maui. To read her posts, click here and here.

I am coming up to the last few days of my experiment (my wool coats will be very pleased to know this) and I will be spending nine of those last days attending London Fashion Week (and wearing fur, of course.)

Last week I had one of my most exciting fur moments so far… I picked up a custom-made fox stole from Pappas Furs, which I had made from a pelt I’ve had for 13 years. I’ve documented the process with a few photos. This will be one of my main pieces for London Fashion Week (I won’t be able to bring more than one or two coats in my suitcase, it will have to be all about the fur accessories!)

First, I brought in this snow-tip fox pelt (it is dyed red and the tips are bleached, hence called “snow tip”) and showed it to Walter, the Master Furrier at Pappas Furs.

fox, pelt, fur scarf, Pappas Furs, custom made fur

fox, pelt, fur scarf, Pappas Furs, custom made fur

The fur on this pelt is very thick and lustrous, it is a fox from a Scandinavian farm.

First, he tested the elasticity of the pelt to see if it was still in good quality, and then he suggested a few options of what I could do with it. We decided on a scarf. Walter made a muslin for me (using a fake fur) and I came in a few weeks later to try it on.

fox, pelt, fur scarf, Pappas Furs, custom made furfox, pelt, fur scarf, Pappas Furs, custom made fur

I returned a few weeks later to pick up the finished product. The scarf itself was way longer than the pelt, and there were no visible seams. By investigating the remnants, I was able to figure out that Walter had used the letting out technique to construct the scarf. The is a technique where a pelt is slit into many long, thin strips, which are then re-sewn together to make a larger, longer piece. Here is an image of one of the leftover scraps, and a photo of a fur swatch of the letting out technique.

fox, pelt, fur scarf, Pappas Furs, custom made fur

Center image shows some of the seaming used in the scarf, and right image shows how the seams are totally invisible from the right side of the fur.

fox, pelt, fur scarf, Pappas Furs, custom made fur

A sample of the letting out technique.

And here is the finished product! I tested it out yesterday and I LOVE it. It is super soft and extremely versatile. Can’t wait to show it off properly!

5 thoughts on “100 Days of Fur: Day 82

  1. Gorgeous! I actually made a fur stole using a sheepskin rug from Ikea. Well, nowhere near as stunning and flawless as this but it turned out pretty well.

    You are going to look so chic at LFW!

  2. I thought your primary defense for fur being green and therefore superior to compassionate fashion was that you support locally grown furs where you can go inspect the farms yourself. Did this dead animal paddle itself from Scandinavia to Canada in a canoe? I have a sneaking suspicion that bleach isn’t so environmentally friendly either…

    • The fox skin was a gift and was 13 years old. And yes, sometimes we use dyes and bleaches for fur, but not nearly as much as other fabrics. How many textiles are often used in their natural state? Not very many. But fur is.

      I am trying to understand what your purpose is in attacking every post on this blog. You are wasting your time. First of all, you’ve not even begun to address the real environmental issues. What fabrics do you wear? I am sure the majority of the fabrics you wear are imported, made from petro chemicals, involve the use of animals, or are highly destructive to the environment. Plus, they probably not biodegradable, local, and sustainable.

      You are fighting a losing battle here, I’d suggest you take your arguments elsewhere. In fact, unless you have something constructive to add to this argument, rather than just attack us, I won’t be approving any more of your comments. If you want to make a difference, you’d be better off contacting an institution that may actually help your cause, rather than fight it here. The more silly comments you make, the more it makes me want to fight for this cause. I love fur, and nothing you say or do will make me change my mind. Our readers are fur supporters, and your comments are not going to change any minds. Best of luck in your future endeavors, and if you have a moment, check out the New York Fashion Week shows. I am sure you’ll be thrilled to see that nearly every designer has put an abundance of fur on their catwalk.

Leave a Reply

