100 Days of Fur: Day 72

To read the full story on the 100 Days of Fur experiment, click here.
Rebecca Tay is taking over the experiment and wearing fur for 8 days while Yasmine is in Hawaii

While Yasmine is getting her sun on in Hawaii (lucky lady), I’m stuck here in Vancouver, where winter apparently lasts forever and the sun has decided to go into permanent retirement. Thank goodness for an interesting project!

My name is Rebecca Tay and I’m the former western editor at FASHION Magazine. Those who know me know that I love fashion, especially when it means getting dressed up, putting on ridiculous heels and bright red lipstick, and finishing with a fabulous topper—a fur one, if possible.

Rebecca Tay, fur coat, rabbit furWhen Yasmine first told me about the 100 Days of Fur two months ago, I thought it was a fantastic idea. You can imagine my surprise, then, when the time came to start my 8-day stint and I became suddenly apprehensive. What if this was, finally, the instance someone would take it upon themselves to hurl a can of bright red paint at me whilst screaming bloody murder? Uh-oh.

Alas, Saturday was my first day, and it was uneventful. Actually, that’s not true. I dove into the experiment by wearing a bright white, super-soft rabbit fur coat to brunch in Crosstown, to go shopping on Main Street, to do some errands on Davie Street, and, a few hours later, to dinner and dancing in Chinatown.Nowhere was I given a dirty look (that I noticed, anyway). Nowhere did someone stop me and say, “how dare you”. In fact, nowhere did I feel anything less than fabulous! At one point, a sales representative in a store on Davie said she loved my jacket, “especially since not everyone can wear fur.” I thanked her and thought to myself, maybe that’s because no one ever really tries to wear fur!

The best part of the day, though, came after dinner, when we headed to a gay club night at the Cobalt Motor Hotel. There, my fur coat made me the most popular girl in the club (sure, there weren’t that many girls there, but I can assure you, none of them were wearing a jacket as fabulous as mine). Lesson of Day 1: wear fur to gay clubs.

Days 2 and 3 have also been extremely uneventful: besides getting a few stares (though honestly, I think that was because I was walking along the Seawall wearing a gigantic fur scarf with Converse), I didn’t get any comments, abusive or otherwise. Instead, I’ve been warm—I’m one of those people who, without fail, leaves the house on the coldest day of the year wearing a spring jacket and no gloves—I’ve felt stylish, and, bottom line, I’m starting to like this experiment.

Rebecca Tay

*You can follow Rebecca’s experiences wearing fur here, and through her Twitter account

One thought on “100 Days of Fur: Day 72

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 100 Days of Fur: Day 72 | A Touch of Luxe -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

