100 Days of Fur: Day 65

To read the full story on the 100 Days of Fur experiment, click here.

While I hoped that there would be exciting things to report throughout this experiment, I have come to accept that it has been highly uneventful. Yes, I have been warm. I’ve had beautiful furs given to me by supporters of the experiment, sent from Montreal, Toronto, and as far as Germany. And I have felt glamorous. But anyone who tells you that you’ll get spat on or harassed if you wear fur is lying, as I’ve not witnessed  a single negative reaction to my 100 days of fur, or at least the 65 days so far.

I’ll be taking a week off starting Saturday, as I’m going on holiday to Maui, and I am not even going to pretend that there’s a reason to be wearing fur when all I want to wear is bikinis. But I am passing the reigns onto my good friend Rebecca, who wil be wearing fur on my behalf. I will introduce her later on in the week.

In the meantime, here is one of my favourite fur pieces, a sheared beaver scarf. On rainy days, particularly when I am walking the dog and I don’t want to wear my beautiful fur through the rainy, wet forest, I keep myself warm with the scarf. It is super cosy and soft.

The scarf from Starlight Furs and is part of the Beautifully Canadian range, which is a label that identifies fur apparel & accessories handcrafted in Canada by master furriers.

5 thoughts on “100 Days of Fur: Day 65

  1. You haven’t witnessed a single negative comment or reaction to your 100 days of fur wearing crap? Hmmm maybe you should go re-read the comments and discussions you and various people have shared from the following days: 1, 28, 34, 50. I personally felt as if you actually received more negative comments than positive comments.

    PS – Is there a reason as to why you paste a cartoon-ish face upon yours? Are you ashamed of your quest?

    • The purpose of the experiment is to see if I get any negative comments or abuse for wearing fur on the street. This has nothing to do with some crazy vegan posting my blog onto some vegan forum which leads to a bunch of people writing lies about the fur industry (animals are not well-treated, skinned alive, etc…) We are out to prove that it is ok to wear fur on the streets, as I’ve heard from people before that the hesitation is that they will get hassled. So at this point, I have NOT received any negative comments, despite my wearing beaver, mink, muskrat, fox, etc… every day.

      And I am remaining anonymous until the ned of the experiment, so that a crazy vegan forum doesn’t try and ruin it by seeking me out and making my life difficult.

      What I am concerned about is whether people should feel uncomfortable wearing fur. This has nothing to do with a bunch of silly comments. We’ve heard all of your arguments hundreds of times before, and clearly they aren’t working, as the fur industry experiencing a major growth, all the big designers are using it, and there is a shortage of pelts to fill demand.

      So good luck to you all. Meanwhile, I will continue to wear my lovely local, sustainable, biodegradable, warm, FASHIONABLE furs.

  2. That looks really warm! I’ve got a hamster skin scarf which I’ve been wearing the last two winters. It looks stuning as it’s 10ft long and the effect/pattern from all the small pelts makes a really unique impact.

Leave a Reply

