100 Days of Fur: Day 3

I was planning on easing myself into this experiment slowly, starting with some safer pieces and moving to the larger and more over-the-top fur jackets later in the experiment, but on Monday it was freezing in Vancouver (-7℃ is very cold for us West Coasters!) so I decided to wear my big white rabbit jacket, which is probably my most over-the-top fur piece after my fox skins. You can’t tell in this photo, but it has quite big 80’s style shoulders.

I went to work downtown, and during my work day popped into various coffee shops, and a few clothing stores (oops) and no one said anything about my jacket, nor did I get any dirty looks. A few colleagues asked me if the jacket was real fur, and when I confirmed it was, they then proceeded to envy me, as I was quite warm in my lovely fur jacket while their synthetics were not doing the job.

But I am going to be honest in this experiment, so I will need to write about two issues I am struggling with. The first one is the fact that I am leaving a trail of fur everywhere I go. My car is covered in stray hairs. I don’t know if this is because all of my furs are vintage, but it is quite annoying. I am now armed with a lint remover at all times (and will look into the cause and possible solutions to this problem.)

The other problem I am having is that with my Day 1 and Day 3 jackets, which are all entirely in fur, I am somewhat limited with my choice of handbags. I like bags that fit on my shoulder, but I know if I carry heavy bags on my shoulder, the straps will rub against the fur and damage it. So I am carrying everything in my hand. That is definitely something to think about when purchasing fur, as I have already ruined a rabbit bomber jacket by carrying bags in the same place on the shoulder, it is now bare of hair.

Other than those two issues, I am truly enjoying being warm in my fur, and am planning on looking into buying another piece very soon, preferably something black so that if it does shed at all, the hairs will blend into my mostly black wardrobe.

To read the full story on the 100 Days of Fur experiment, click here.

8 thoughts on “100 Days of Fur: Day 3

  1. I work in the fur trade. I can tell you it´s normal that your fur garment looses a bit of hair, but not too much. I can give you two reasons: the leather is damaged because the garment is a bit old (most probable) or the tanning process/fur quality is not good.
    I´ll follow you every day, this is wonderful!!

    • Thank you for the tips, I got a few other ones too, so I am going to write a follow-up post about this. It seems that my furs are both old, and probably not the highest of quality. But I am hopefully going to buy a new one soon to make up for that…

    • Hey,good news!
      I ordered one Apple iphone 4 4G 32GB from this website
      one weeks ago, today I’ve got it. Amazing,beyond my
      imagination, it’s genuine and as good as expected,but much cheaper.
      I’m pleased to share this good news with you! if you would like
      to get one, you can check it out, and you can contact this Email:
      Best regards.
      Yours

  2. Land bearing animals tend to be more likely to shed as their pelts age. Beaver, mink, etc don’t have these issues.

    Rabbit is notorious for shedding.

    You might want to consider covering the strap of your hand bag in fur maybe. This will reduce the friction (you’ll notice there’s a lot less friction when you rub two bits of fur together)

Leave a Reply

