100 Days of Fur: Day 1

A few months ago we were trying to figure out the reasons why people don’t wear fur. Is it because of the animal welfare? For most people, I don’t think so. We all know that animals are a part of our lives, we eat them, use them to make our shoes, and we wear them on our bodies. So we have accepted that as humans, we consume animals, and providing it is done in the most ethical and sustainable ways possible, we are ok with this. I realised the reason why I don’t wear a lot of fur is beacuse I am scared of people giving me hassle.

When I thought about it, I realised that it was wrong. So wrong. How can I let someone with different beliefs than me try and tell me, or intimidate me, into not wearing what I want? It is morally wrong. Just like animal rights activists don’t stand outside Safeway and scream at people buying steaks, or no government should tell a woman to cover her face, no one should make me feel uncomfortable for wearing fur. But then I was told it isn’t the case. No one will bother you when you wear fur, I was told. Everyone has told me that aside from the rare dirty look from a teenager, they have never been hassled when wearing fur.

Day 1: uneventful.

So I decide to put it to the test, and wear fur for 100 days straight. My Montreal fur-wearing friends obviously have very few problems, as it is quite common to wear fur there. But in Vancouver, the situation is different. Animal right activists have been, well, very active recently. I want to see what will, or what won’t, happen to me if I wear fur for 100 days. This has become an experiment to benefit everyone who has a beaufiul rabbit jacket, fox collar, or mink coat, and is worried about the consequences of wearing them. I’m hoping to prove that fur is not only warm and beautiful, but it also very safe to wear.

I’ve got a few rules, or shall I say guidelines, that I am following during these 100 days.

  1. I will wear a visible item of fur every day that I leave the house (it is unlikely that I will ever have a day where I don’t leave the house, because I have a dog that needs to be walked, but if I am sick in bed, I may not be able to wear any fur. I will, however, wrap myself in a rabbit blanket for the benefit of the experiment.)
  2. Items can include coats, jackets, scarves, collars, shoes, etc… anything that has a visible piece of real fur on it. I’m aiming for the larger pieces, but I also don’t want to be seen wearing the same few coats every day for the next few months.
  3. I will photograph my outfits occasionally, and I will write a post at least once a week updating you on anything that happens
  4. I’ll be honest about the negative stuff, although I am hoping there won’t be any
  5. I’m staying anonymous throughout this experiement, simply because I don’t want the activists making my life hell, and ruining the experiment.

Today, day 1, I wore my giant hooded fur jacket with knit trim. I haven’t quite identified the fur the jacket is made out of, since I bought it vintage in Paris many years ago, but it is very warm. I went to Ikea and wore the jacket inside the entire time I was in the store (hours…) and then I went to lunch at my aunt’s where everyone asked me whether the coat was real or not. A few said it was beautiful, and I didn’t encounter a sneer or negative comment the entire day. Success!

31 thoughts on “100 Days of Fur: Day 1

  1. Wow, can’t wait to read more about this experiment!
    I totally agree with you, it’s so wrong to feel nerveous to wear fur because a group of angry teenagers might do something radical. I love my fur, I live in my sheared beaver fur vest (typical Canadian fur!) from October to March. Heck, I even use it as a mini-blanket when it’s really cold!
    I like your jacket, it looks like red fox. Aren’t giant fur hoods THE BEST?!

  2. Pingback: 100 Tage. Das Pelz Experiment ! | Trendfurs.com bloggt!

  3. I’m enjoying your 100 days of fur first I would like to say I LOVE YOUR BLOG !! I know the trials & tribulations of fur . I’m the Designer/CEO of Venetian Decor ®Brand I design custom home decor and boutique items from vintage fur coats that were once owned by our Great Grandmothers and passed down . Heirloom quality coats with history are my passion and my clients wish to preserve the love and sentimental piece of their family history are my mission . I love nothing more than creating a custom design . I recently created a reproduction French footstool for a client her mother in law had passed away and the daughter in law asked me to create a piece for her own daughter. The daughter “had a loving relationship with her grandmother” for a Christmas Present . I was told only a few days ago it was the most magical Christmas they had ever had . If people have issues wearing a vintage fur coat and have a sentimental attachment to a vintage fur coat a custom design is better than our history being tossed into a land fill with out any regard to the many artisans it took to make the coat and respect to the animals .
    Yours truly,
    Pamela Beattie
    Designer/CEO of Venetian Decor ®
    http://www.venetiandecor.ca

  4. I disagree with your choice to support fur in any way. I am 14 years old and have been a vegetarian my whole life. But before you write me off as another lunatic who just listens to what everyone else says, please listen to my point. The fur industry is HORRIBLE! Animals are literally skinned alive, and endure endless cruelty for you. Before I started following PETA closely I thought it was ok to wear leather and other pelts of the sort. I don’t know why, but I only thought big fur coats did any harm. I was completely and utterly wrong. I threw away even my FUGG boots. Please look at this link to see what you are supporting.

    I urge you to go to this page and read as many articles as you can bear. If you are short on time at least take a look at these three:
    http://www.peta.org/features/default.aspx?PETATags=Skins&PETAOrTags=0

    Fur Farms:
    http://features.peta.org/ChineseFurFarms/

    Fur Industry:
    http://features.peta.org/WhoseSkin/

    Why No Fur:
    http://www.peta.org/features/Heather-Mills-anti-fur-ad.aspx

    Chinchilla Fur:
    http://www.peta.org/features/chinchilla-investigation-notes.aspx

    All I’m trying to say is know your fur, and the animals who suffered the torture of the fur industry in order for you to have that coat. There are many other options these days that look like the real thing. Please, stop supporting this cruel trade. If you remain unswayed by the horrors you witnessed within these articles and videos, then I fear for your own mental well-being.

    Sincerely,
    A young girl who actually cares about animals

    • Dear young girl,

      Well if you are the future of animals rights activists, then I will be very happy, because rather than use abusive language and threats, you are approaching this like an adult, diplomatically and politely. So well done to you. All of your links come from PETA, and I have to say that PETA is not all it is cut out to be. In fact, you should also look at petakillsanimals.org.

      Animals are not tortured for the fur trade. Imagine an animal that lives a sad, horrible life, and is badly fed. What will his fur look like? Terrible. The main purpose of a fur farmer is to keep their animals happy, stress-free, and well-fed, as that is the only way to guarantee a good pelt. I have visited mink farms in Canada, and I can tell you right now that they are very well treated. Another lie that PETA spreads is that of animals being skinned alive. This is not a technique EVER used in the fur industry. It takes much longer than skinning a dead animal, it is dangerous for the person skinning, and a beating heart means blood will get everywhere, which results in a ruined pelt. It never happens. That PETA video is a lie, they paid someone $500 to do that. The International Fur Trade Federation tried to investigate it because it is a totally illegal and unethical practice, and PETA would not reveal their source, so they had to find out for themselves where it came from.

      If you care about animals, don’t support an organization that spend millions of dollars a year paying celebrities to strip down for advertising campaigns. The World Wildlife Fund is an organization whose ONLY priority is to protect wildlife and animals, and they don’t waste money paying celebrities. And, they support a well-regulated fur trade. There are other conservation societies that care about the environment, and who also support fur: World Conservation Union (IUCN), the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP) and the World Wildlife Fund (WWF).

      You seem keen to learn, so please feel free to send over any questions to touch.of.luxury@gmail.com.

      Yasmine.

  5. You are right — here at the beginning that the anti-fur sentiment is highly overplayed. I — even as a man — have worn fur coats out with no negative reactions, and mostly positive comments of compliments and envy. One doesn’t have to hate animals in order to wear fur. Quite the contrary (in spite of some previous comments. ) Those who truly know the fur trade value, respect and financially support wildlife. As with any choice, be sure it is well researched then decide.

  6. you people are clueless.
    What is wrong with faux fur? Why should an animal be kept in a tiny cage all it’s life to then be skinned possibly alive for fashion?

    Honestly do you not have any compassion for the animals, dogs, cats, raccoons, rabbits, chinchilla etc. who literally are ripped apart just so you can ‘be warm’
    Also

    Kentfield 46 ‘Those who truly know the fur trade value, respect and financially support wildlife.’ I have researched the fur trade and the ‘positive’ sides to it are minimal, pretty much, minks eat the left over food humans don’t eat.
    that is a useless argument.
    Also a big majority of fur comes from China, they skin the animal alive as it’s the best way to do it financially.

    Shame on you all for wearing fur, you know it’s wrong but are clearly to ignorant to learn the truth behind it, just google or youtube ‘the fur trade’ and you will see some things you will never forget.

    Do proper research on it.
    If you have any fur then give it to an animal shelter an abandoned baby fox has more use of a fox coat that you do.

    Don’t wear real fur, wear faux.

    • Do you have ANY idea what faux fur is made of? Synthetic fabrics are made from petrochemical which equals OIL. I would much rather wear something a product that nature has provided, than a fabric that has been made in a factory from a resource that is unsustainable, pollutes the world, and is the cause of many wars and environmental disasters.

      I don’t “know” fur is wrong, I know it is right. My country was built on the fur trade, and it is part of our heritage. It is local, sustainable, biodegradable, long lasting, and recyclable. I’m only 30 and I have vintage furs that are 15 years old (so who knows how old they are) and still look amazing. Try finding me a cheap, tacky fake fur that lasts that long.

      And perhaps you’d like to “do some proper research.” I’ve visited fur farms, read a lot about issues, spoken to EDUCATED people on the subject, and even looked at the anti-fur arguments. There is nothing out there that convinces me that fur is wrong. (By the way, the majority og fur DOES NOT come from China, although a lot is manufactured there, like most clothes. Most fur come from North America and Europe. It seems you are the one not doing your research.)

      • except for the once that are Anally Electrocuted. To keep the fur pretty and burn their insides. Or the countless number of videos out their proving the abuse the animals recieve. Like getting skinned alive…and slowly dying afterwards.

      • Electrocution is not used for all fur bearers, but is used for some, as well as cows, chickens and pigs. Electrocution was introduced into farming at the request of the Humane Society, because it is the most humane way to kill an animal.

        And no animals are skinned alive for the fur industry, here is why:
        1-it is illegal and unethical
        2-it is dangerous for the person skinning. Why take the risk of being bitten or scratched?
        3-it destroys the pelt. A beating heart means blood everywhere­. The whole point of skinning for fur is to have a good pelt, and if there is blood all over it, it is ruined.
        4-Skinning a euthanized animal takes less than 5 minutes (45 seconds for a mink) whereas
        a live animal would take much, much longer, and would therefore not be economical.

        The videos you posted are either 1-fabricated by PETA (sadly, they do this) or very, very old, and the fur indsutry has evolved a great deal in the past 20 years. Go and do some REAL research, instead of just posting a bunch of rubbish videos. Go and visit a mink farm, and then tell me the animals are badly treated.

  7. I just wish GOD TO BLESS EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU WHO WERE FUR, IF YOU SEEN THE WAY THEY KILL TO GET IT YOU WOULD NOT WANT TO WEAR IT.SO I AM JUST GOING TO PRAY FOR ALL OF US, I DO NOT WANT TO TALK MEAN, THERE IS ENOUGH MEAN IN OUR WORLD.GOD BLESS EACH AND EVERY ONE OF US.

  8. HERES THE TRUTH:


    Heres what your all supporting. I want to melt your cold hearts. All in the name of fashion? Some people are so sick and this makes me ashamed of the human race. How can you fur supporters allow such horror? If you can watch this without feeling guilty, sad,remorseful, cruel, heartless and most important regretful. Then im so sorry for you.

    If you cant watch these, you know fur is wrong. Dont turn a blind eye. This is the reality of what you support. This is the reality for these animals.
    This is their lives.

Leave a Reply

